Historic Annapolis Museum Exhibit: Opening Date

Posted on January 6, 2012

1


Mark your calendars: Opening date is Saturday, February 11, 2012 at 10 a.m.  The exhibit will run through December 31, 2012 at the Historic Annapolis Museum, 99 Main Street, Annapolis.

That is the first time the public will be able to see the completed 18th century Annapolis Tapestries in person!  This exhibit lets visitors read about the

  •     inspiration for the Tapestries
  •     Historians Work Group
  •     image selection and vetting process
  •     artist drawing and design process
  •     stitching process

On display will be the large (3 feet x 6.5 feet) tapestry showing the City Dock development and 44  significant elements during the first one hundred years since the City’s charter was granted – 1708-1807 – as well as six small (10″ x12″) and one medium (18″ x 24″) individual tapestry panels that compliment the large one as follows…

  • Maryland’s Four Signers 1774                   
  • The Annapolis Flag
  • Chalmers Shilling 1783
  • Nancy Hallam   1771
  • William Paca House Garden 1765-1780
  • Tuesday Club Illustration 1749
  • Death Head Stamp 1765
  • Sands House 1771

For a description, and photograph, of the small and medium  tapestry panels that will be on display, click here.

On weekend afternoons, exhibit visitors will be able to see one of our expert volunteers MAKE HISTORY by stitching a small, 18th century tapestry panel, Sparrows Seal 1765.

This seal first appeared in 1765 on the title page of the Reverand Thomas Bacon’s compilation of the Laws of Maryland.  Carved on wood block by Thomas Sparrow, ward and employee of the Annapolis printer, Jonas Green, the Sparrow seal bear the latin motto, “Crescite et Multiplicamini” which means “Increase and Multiply”.

About these ads
Posted in: Uncategorized